Ibadan College of Medicine Alumni Association, North America (ICOMAA-NA) Welcomes New Executive Committee Members for the 2024-2026 Period

The Ibadan College of Medicine Alumni Association, North America (ICOMAA-NA) has proudly announced its newly elected executive members for the 2024-2026 tenure. The incoming leaders, who bring a wealth of experience and dedication, are set to steer the association towards greater achievements.


Dr. Modupe Sokunbi née Ogunnaike, MBBS 1982, has been appointed as President. Dr. Sokunbi takes on her role as President with an impressive track record including her role as the first female Chief of Staff at Nacogdoches Medical Center and her current position as a Clinical Assistant Professor at the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston. In light of her distinctive antecedents, Dr. Sokunbi is poised to lead ICOMAA-NA with exemplary excellence. Dr. Olatunji Akintilo, of the MBBS Class of 1989, will be serving alongside her as the newly elected Vice-President. Dr. Akintilo has served as the General Secretary of ICOMAA-NA from 2022 to 2024 and is the Medical Director of Utilization Management at United Health Group. His commitment to the association and the medical profession is well-known and commendable.


The new General Secretary, Dr. Tony Anani, of the MBBS Class of 2002, is a Pediatric Gastroenterologist and the Chief Medical Officer at Cook Children’s Medical Center in Prosper, Texas. Dr. Anani’s extensive experience in paediatric care and medical leadership will greatly benefit the association. Dr. Bolanle Akinlade, of the MBBS Class of 1988, also joins the executive team as the Assistant Secretary. Dr. Akinlade is a board-certified internist and Senior Vice President at Regeneron Pharmaceuticals, bringing a strong background in both clinical practice and corporate leadership.


The Financial Secretary position is held by Dr. Adeolu Ajala, a Senior Physical Therapist and Clinical Instructor with the New York City Public Schools and Supervising Therapist at NYC Health and Hospitals. Dr. Ajala, an alumnus from 2001, has been a vital part of the medical community in New York. Dr. Adeyinka Akinboboye née Williams, of the BDS Class of 1987, will serve as the Publicity Secretary. Dr Adeyinka Akinboboye is the owner of Dental Care, P.C., and she continues to demonstrate significant expertise in dentistry and public health.


Also serving on the ICOMAA NA Executive Committee as Ex-Officio members – are the immediate past president, Dr. Abraham Ariyo (MBBS Class of 1988), a past president, Dr. Dolamu Sokunbi (MBBS Class of 1981), also a past president, Dr. Titi Britto née George (MBBS Class of 1986), Dr. Bisi Pearse née Obatoyinbo (MBBS Class of 1987) and Dr. Nosamiefan Imina (MBBS Class of 1987).

Read the full report here:


Social Media Releases

Facebook: https://web.facebook.com/UIcollegeofmedicine/posts/pfbid0SuttbwjTXrmD6v2kBtkjWRmNWmftozGGq8UmTa3fmnREcG9s3Knud3541kmNopAxl